Meghalaya Health Systems Strengthening Project

department of meghalya LOGO

About Meghalaya

Tucked away in the hills of eastern sub-Himalayas is Meghalaya, one of the most beautiful states in the country. Nature has blessed her with abundant rainfall, sun-shine, virgin forests, high plateaus, tumbling waterfalls, crystal clear rivers, meandering streamlets and above all with sturdy, intelligent and hospitable people.

Emergence of Meghalaya as an Autonomous State on 2nd April 1970 and as a full-fledged State on 21st January 1972 marked the beginning of a new era of the geo-political history of North Eastern India. It also marked the triumph of peaceful democratic negotiations, mutual understanding and victory over violence and intrigue.

The State of Meghalaya is situated in the North East of India. It extends for about 300 kilometres in length and about 100 kilometres in breadth. It is bounded on the north by Goalpara, Kamrup and Nogong districts, on the east by Karbi Anglong and North Cachar Hills districts, all of Assam, and on the south and west by Bangladesh.

Shillong, the capital of Meghalaya is located at an altitude of 1496 metres above sea level. Shillong, which was made Assam's capital in 1874, remained so till January 1972, following the formation of Meghalaya. The capital city derives its name from the manifestation of the creator called Shyllong.

Meghalaya is subject to vagaries of the monsoon. The climate varies with altitude. The climate of Khasi and Jaintia Hills is uniquely pleasant and bracing. It is neither too warm in summer nor too cold in winter, but over the plains of Garo Hills, the climate is warm and humid, except in winter. The Meghalayan sky seldom remains free of clouds.

Population 22,429 Sq. Km
Capital Shillong
Languages Khasi, Pnar, Garo & English
Density 132 Per Sqr. Km
Literacy Rate 74.43 %

Meghalaya Districts, Health Blocks and Health Facilities

Sl.No. District Name/ Headquarter Health Block Name
1 East Khasi Hills District Headquarter: Shillong Mylliem Block
Laitkroh Block
Shella Bholaganj Block
Mawsynram Block
Mawryngkneng Block
Pynursla Block
Mawkynrew Block
2 West Khasi Hills District Headquarter: Nongstoin Nongstoin Block
Mawkynrew Block
Mawshynrut Block
Mawthadraishan Block
3 South West Khasi Hills District Headquarter: Mawkyrwat Mawkyrwat Block
Ranikor Block
4 Ri Bhoi District Headquarter: Nongpoh Umsning Block
Umling Block
Jirang Block
5 West Jaintia Hills District Headquarter: Jowai Thadlaskein
Amlarem Block
Laskein Block
6 East Jaintia Hills District Headquarter: Khliehriat Thadlaskein
Saipung Block
7 East Garo Hills District Headquarter: Williamnagar Dambo Rongjeng Block
Songsak Block
Samanda Block
8 West Garo Hills District Headquarter: Tura Rongram Block
Dadenggre Block
Selsella Block
Tikrikilla Block
Gambegre Block
Dalu Block
9 North Garo Hills District Headquarter: Resubelpara Resubelpara Block
Kharkutta Block
10 South West Garo Hills District Headquarter: Ampati Betasing Block
Zikzak Block
11 South Garo Hills District Headquarter: Baghmara Baghmara Block
Gasuapara Block
Ronggara Block
Chokpot Block
Log Out